Linnaeus

Linkrolls Courtesy of BlinkList

In miscellany on September 30th, 2006 at 2:10 pm

My Play now has a new feature.

BlinkList logoThrough the magic of WordPress widgets and the BlinkList social bookmarking service, There are now a pair of linkrolls in My Play’s sidebar, one for boardgaming links and one for RPG links.

This means that, instead of clogging up the main blog with link posts, I can just “Blink” (bookmark on BlinkList) the page, and it will appear automatically in the sidebar for a time. At present, each LinkRoll will feature the five most recently bookmarked links for each topic.

Each of the LinkRolls has it’s own RSS feed that you can subscribe to if you would rather followthem through your favourite aggregator.

If there is popular demand (ha!) I may expand the LinkRolls to 10 links each (keeping each link in the LinkRoll longer) or even add a third roll for non-gaming links as well.

  1. Great! I would be thrilled if you would add me *bambi look*.

    Yehuda

  2. I added you to my blogroll, Yehuda. I’m sure articles of yours will end up in the boardgame linkroll over time,but there’s nothing hot off the presses right now that grabs me.

    Hope that’s enough to make you happy :)

  3. Gerald, I’m interested (both from a professional and a personal standpoint) to see where (and whether) blinklist varies from del.icio.us — can you help? Or are they essentially the same, just from different organisations?

  4. Melissa,

    I haven’t used del.icio.us, so i can’t really compare them myself. Also, BlinkList has just announced on Their company blog that they are going to be giving BlinkList a major expansion in features.

    It’s a few months out of date, but there is a comparative review of ten top social bookmarking sites (including del.icio.us and BlinkList) here.

    If you wanted to e-mail me your needs, I might be able to help you more, as well.

    Oh,and BlinkList looks a hell of a lot better than del.icio.us too ;)

  5. Thanks for the shout out about BlinkList. You are correct. We are indeed working on a ton of improvements. We have two major changes behind us (spaces and internationalization) and once we finish with them in two weeks it is time to start making a ton fo small improvements here and there. We can’t wait to get started working on those.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

