Linnaeus

My Perfect Geeky Christmas List

In boardgames, miscellany, role-playing games on December 24th, 2007 at 1:37 pm

A nice idea that I’ve stolen from The Chatty DM

  • 4th Edition D&D is as good as it looks like from the previews I’ve seen so far (and they fix the geeky names for spells, monsters and feats)
  • A chance to play my copy of Die Mächer (which I bought over a year ago) with four other eager newbies in a location devoid of disturbances and distractions.
  • A copy of Agricola
  • A chance to play some story games with some regularity
  • Gamers—especially those prone to posting frequently to forums—start understanding that people who dislike their favourite games, and vice versa, are not evil or stupid
  • The gumption to finally finish my series on Interrogating Your NPCs and Elegance, to say nothing of posting more regularly overall
  • All of my gaming friends, face-to-face and online, have a great year of gaming

Merry Christmas everyone!

  1. Well I can vouch for the 5th one on our fledging forums. We have narrativists, Theorists and D&D crunch junkies having a nice time so far… and with almost 500 posts after 2 weeks, thing are looking good.

    You are welcome anytime Linnaeus!

    Thanks for the link… made me discover your Blog…. nice list!

    Merry x-mas!

  2. Thanks, Phil. I’ll be sure to check it out. You seem to have a good community on your blog, so if that carries over to the forums I might feel at home :)

  3. I can definitely get behind some of these wishes. I also hope that Fourth Edition is as good as the previews are making it out to be. I probably won’t be getting into it, but it would be very nice if the biggest game out there continued to evolve in a positive direction (I am of the opinion that 3.0 and 3.5 were steps forward).

    I also want to play story games more often. I need to get some of my group to play a Saturday game once in a while when people are available so I can play some of the games on my shelf. One of the people in my group has read and is really excited about Agon, so hopefully that one is going to happen sooner rather than later. I would also like to play by the book Spirit of the Century. I have played it a bunch, but never as a 1930s pulp game! I have only used it for other things like an Iron Kingdoms fantasy game.

    As for number 5, that is quite the pie in the sky wish! But maybe I am just too jaded from hanging out on RPGnet (that is somewhat a facisious, as I think it is a great site, but it does have a lot of negativity).

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Hopefully Santa found everyone reading this!

  4. The story games that I most want to play right now are The Shadow of Yesterday, Dogs in the Vineyard and Dirty Secrets, although Ganakagok would be high on my list if I thought that it would be an easy sell to my game group. Agon is kind of on the fringes of my “to buy” list.

    And I know that I am being pie in the sky hoping that internet forums will be civil and understanding :) Still, fight the good fight and all that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

