Linnaeus

Chromatic Dragons

In role-playing games on January 6th, 2009 at 8:00 am

I finished reading Draconomicon I: Chromatic Dragons (you can read my full review over at my new reviewing gig, Game Cryer), and it reminded me of something that’s niggled at the back of my brain about D&D dragons from day 1.

The names are lame.

I mean, come on. Red dragon? Green Dragon? Adamantine dragon???

How uninspiring can you get? I know Gygax has fans that border on the cultish, but he really laid an egg here. How hard would it be to come up with something a little more, well, colourful? Inferno dragon? Sylvan dragon? Storm dragon?

The metallics are bit harder, but a little redesign couldcross that gap. Radiant dragons? Justice dragons? Hearth dragons?

Fourth edition is getting dragons with more interesting names, thanks to planar dragons and, probably, the upcoming catastrophe and scourge dragons, but they have a long way to go before they’re iconic.

Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

